29th Dec. Recap. 

2021, 2021, we’re eager to see you. Like escaping a sinister maze, we’re running away from 2020 with the hope that you’ll be a better year…

I have always been amazed by that thing called hope. Even in the worst situations, we unconsciously believe that one day the bad season will end and that things will change. As one of our basic instincts for survival, hope is a powerful defense mechanism that keeps us going in life in spite of the daily difficulties we may face.

Funny enough, I suck at “hoping”. I have an extremely pessimistic personality that constantly imagines the worst case scenarios. Contrary to those super positive people who have a smile on their faces all the time, I have to make a HUGE, conscious, monstrous effort to avoid drowning into negativity.

As I paid attention to my life, I realized this. Every single bad event that I imagined would happen came to pass. Just like Job said in the Bible, “the things that I feared the most came unto me” (NPV: Nuna’s Personal Version, hehe). That’s when I began to be afraid of myself…. And of my pessimistic mind with gloomy imaginations that seemed to attract unfortunate events. 

Of course, it’s not just because you imagine something that it will happen. In the same way, it’s not because you’ve not thought about it that it won’t happen.  Our world doesn’t operate on fixed rules, and there are thousands of variables that influence every second of our existence. What’s bound to happen will happen anyway.  However, let’s not add fuel to the fire and make it worse with negative perspectives. If bad things can happen on their own, don’t make your life more obscure by worrying about what could occur to make your life miserable. At least, in your mind, try to dream about nice things. It might not make you control the Universe as you wish; but believe me, it will make your existence a whole lot sweeter. 

Life is difficult? Yes. But depending on your attitude, you’re one step away from making it better or bitter. Let’s call it “the improvement mindset”.

Challenge for the new year 2021: “Change one thing about yourself”. This year, it’s not only about going to the gym or learning a new skill. It’s about a change in attitude. Yelling, cursing, complaining, gossiping, backbiting, overworrying, we all have that little thing which we know could make a difference if we could just get rid of it. Are you ready?

As for me, this is my resolution: I’m going to change my life by changing my perspective. 

Warm regards from a fellow life warrior!

Forever overthinking, forever meditating,

Nuna Blomevi.